When did Liverpool win their first…?

Liverpool have won 50 awards since the club was founded in 1892, making the Reds currently the most successful football club in England. But when did they win the first of all trophies?

Nineteen League titles, nine League Cups, eight FA Cups, six European Champions Cups, four Super Cups, four Second Division titles, three UEFA Cups and one Club World Cup.

That’s quite a few trophies and that’s not even counting the 16 Charity/Community Shields.

But when was each silver object first raised in the Liverpool?

League titles

In the club’s 131-year history, Liverpool have won a total of 23 titles, including a spell in the Second Division.

And even though football started before 1992, we’ve included the Premier League title here too:

First Division: 1900/01 (Manager: Tom Watson)

Premier League: 2019/20 (Manager: Jurgen Klopp)

Second Division: 1893/94 (Managers: William Barclay and John McKenna)

Awards (First Division): 1900/01, 1905/06, 1921/22, 1922/23, 1946/47, 1963/64, 1965/66, 1972/73, 1975/76, 1976/77, 1978/79, 1979/80, 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84, 1985/86, 1987/88, 1989/90, 2019/20

Awards (Second Division): 1893/94, 1895/96, 1904/05, 1961/62.

European Cup

The Reds occupy third place in number European cups on the continent, equal to Bayern Munich – six. The club was also runner-up four times.

Liverpool, the cream of Europe. This competition is synonymous with this football club, and the Old Big Ears were first proudly lifted by the Reds in the 1976/77 season.

Bob Paisley was in charge as his Reds side won 3-1 against Borussia Monchengladbach in Rome.

See also  Fans scream hypocrisy as Ryan Gosling blocks Sydney Harbor Bridge for 7 hours straight to film his movie ⋆ Somag News

Awards: 1976/77, 1977/78, 1980/81, 1983/84, 2004/05, 2018/19.

FA Cup

Only two other clubs have won more FA Cups than Liverpool — Manchester United and Arsenal. We all know when the last one was added to the trophy cabinet, and the first one was added 57 years earlier.

Bill Shankly finally got the trophy in Liverpool’s hands in the 1964-65 season thanks to a 2-1 extra-time win over Leeds United.

Awards: 1964/65, 1973/74, 1985/86, 1988/89, 1991/92, 2000/01, 2005/06, 2021/22.

League Cup

Despite the fact that it has varied over the years, no team has won this competition more times than Liverpool (9).

The trophy was first lifted in 1980/81 when it was known as the Football League Cup. Liverpool needed a final replay at Villa Park after a 1-1 draw with West Ham in the original fixture.

Paisley won 2-1, adding another trophy to their collection.

Awards: 1980/81, 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84, 1994/95, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2011/12, 2021/22.


The first of three UEFA Cup/Europa League titles was won in the 1972/73 season when Shankly led the club to its first European trophy.

It was the first of 12 European trophies for the club.

Awards: 1972/73, 1975/76, 2000/01

UEFA Super Cup

In the 1977–78 season, the Paisley side followed up their first European Cup success with their first Super Cup, beating Hamburger over two legs.

He finished 7-1 over two games. Emotional, to say the least.

Awards: 1977, 2001, 2005, 2019.

World Club Championship

The first and only club World Cup was added to the trophy case by Klopp and his team in 2019 against the backdrop of Qatar.

See also  Generate Title Heading on : Mac DeMarco says he finds TikTok's impact on the music industry "very depressing." ⋆ News from Somag without quotes

An extra-time goal from Roberto Firmino sealed a 1-0 win over Flamengo on what was a historic day.

Awards: 2019

Public shield

Shankly was the first Liverpool manager to get his hands on the shield, even if it was shared with West Ham, in the 1964/65 season.

Whether it’s called the Charity Shield of England or the Community Shield, Liverpool have collected this particular piece of silverware 16 times (sharing it five times).

Widely regarded as a glorified pre-season friendly, it still remains a silverware.

Awards: 1964, 1965, 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 2001, 2006, 2022